Kingston and Barton Residents Group (KBRG)

Annual General Meeting 2018

Eastlake Football Club

29 November 2018

Public Meeting 7.00pm – 8.12pm

The meeting was attended by about 30 Members and several observers. All attendees signed an attendance sheet. Memberships were available for renewal at the door.

Rebecca Scouller chaired the meeting, which began with presentations by Greg Haraldson (ACT No Waste) and Lisa Johnson (Senior Manager for ACT Waste to Energy Policy). Of particular interest to residents were newly added regulatory functions including licensing of waste management companies and the development of the waste to energy policy for the ACT. This policy will be important in helping ACT to meet a 90% recovery target (against current stagnation at 70%). Gains will mostly come from improving waste reduction by businesses and households as construction waste already recycles much of its waste. The community submissions on waste to energy proposals by CRS at Fyshwick were noted and a consultation is open til 14 December 2018 to identify community and business views on what technologies should be used in ACT. The consultation should help to rule out unacceptable technologies and provide clarity to industry.

Some waste to energy processes are already used in ACT, primarily gases from landfill and sewage sludge are burned to generate electricity. Process engineered waste and anaerobic processes are also possible and part of the consultation. Questions from the audience were addressed on issues with skips overflowing at apartment buildings and discussion on improving liaison with building managers was agreed to be potentially productive.

This part of the meeting concluded at 7.50pm.

2018 Annual General Meeting

This meeting commenced at 7.55 pm

Apologies:

Rachel Stephen Smith MLA, Elizabeth Lee MLA, Shane Rattenbury MLA, Chris Stephens, Karin van Arkel, Gary Petherbridge, John Tucker, Kath Taperell, Virginia Walsh, Michael Delaney, Ann Stewart, Grant Battersby, Nancy Waites, Stephen Blackburn, Lesley Fisk, Peter Sharpe, Dennis Callaghan, Sarah Wasson, P Wasson.

Endorsement of the 2017 AGM Minutes:

These minutes were endorsed on a motion by Peter Moore and Heather Leedman.

President's Report:

Rebecca Scouller discussed the extensive long list of activities and achievements. She thanked members for all the support for activities during the past including committee members.

Highlights included:

Award by National Trust ACT for heritage signpost project

KBRG submissions on development issues particularly regarding Manuka and attendance as witnesses at government enquires such as a Commonwealth inquiry regarding light rail and the Parliamentary Zone.

Formation of a KBRG tree group to promote protection of trees via additions to ACT Tree Register

Acting Treasurer's Report:

Acting Treasurer Liz Swain thanked Marie Bray who had carried out this role for many years.

Key points:

KBRG remains solvent but there are some peaks and troughs in balances due to heritage grant funds being received and expended. Main costs continue to be venue hire, printing and distribution of notice of AGM. These costs are subsidised by a communications grant from the Inner South Canberra Community Council (ISCCC).

Acceptance was moved by **Janet Hughes** and seconded by **Rosemary Hollow.** The meeting voted to accept the report.

Election of the KBRG Committee for 2018:

The election process was run by Marea Fatseas, President of ISCCC.

Prior to the meeting single nominations were received for the following committee positions: President (Rebecca Scouller),

Vice President (Nick Swain),

Secretary (Janet Hughes),

Ordinary Committee Members Peter Moore, Kathie Potts and Heather Leedman.

During the meeting Richard Johnston nominated for the Treasurer role.

Acceptance of all nominations moved by **Peter Moore** and seconded by **Life Member Ian Morison** and was then endorsed by the meeting.

Meeting concluded at 8.12pm.